Many cities, counties, and states around the United States have chosen to reduce or eliminate their use of herbicides on roadsides. Six counties in Washington — Thurston, Snohomish, Clallam, Jefferson, San Juan, and Island — maintain their roadsides without the use of herbicides, and the cities of Olympia, Snohomish, and Bainbridge Island, among others, choose not to spray their roadsides either.

For further information about some of these great programs, see our pages on:

And for more information about the Washington State Department of Transportation’s (WSDOT) roadside program regarding roadside herbicide use and vegetation management, see our State Highways page.